Hide menu

New departments, new names

The names of the new departments, until now known as X, Y and Z, have been decided. The new acronymns are HMV, BKV and IKOS.

On 13 February 2019, the University Board determined that three new departments, which until now have been known as X, Y and Z, will be created on 1 January 2020. The vice-chancellor’s decision meeting has determined that the departments will have the following names:

  • Department X: Institutionen för hälsa, medicin och vård (HMV)
    English name: Department of Health, Medicine and Caring Sciences
  • Department Y: Institutionen för biomedicinska och kliniska vetenskaper (BKV)
    English name: Department of Biomedical and Clinical Sciences
  • Department Z: Institutionen för kultur och samhälle (IKOS)
    English name: Department of Culture and Society

“It’s a good feeling to give the three new departments names. HMV and BKV will be two dynamic and well-integrated departments that will improve our collaboration with the health and medical care services. IKOS will lead our initiative in future-oriented humanities and the social sciences, enabling us to offer attractive and socially relevant education”, says Vice-Chancellor Helen Dannetun.


Translated by George Farrants


Björn Stafstedt 2019-05-27

Page manager: elisabet.wahrby@liu.se
Last updated: 2019-05-29